BlackBerry Peach National Poetry Slam

By hosting an annual poetry slam competition, BlackBerry Peach hopes to both bring in new poets who are practiced at performance and at the same time encourage our existing members, primarily page poets, to improve how they give voice to the speakers of their poems. Competitors are expected from across the country and will be limited to 44 of the top spoken word poets.

The BlackBerry Peach National Poetry Slam takes place in collaboration with the National Federation of State Poetry Societies (NFSPS) Annual Convention. All are invited to register for convention events as well as slam events.




Slam Week Events

June 5-8, 2024, at the DoubleTree Hilton in Roswell, Georgia, during the National Federation of State Poetry Societies (NFSPS) Annual Convention (June 5-10, 2024).

  • Wednesday, June 5, 2024
    • 2:00 p.m. | Slam orientation
    • 6:30 p.m. | Prelims (Bouts 1 and 2)
    • 8:30 p.m. | Prelims (Bouts 3 and 4)
    • 10:30 p.m. | Themed Open Mic
  • Thursday, June 6, 2024
    • 6:30 p.m. | Prelims (Bouts 5 and 6)
    • 8:30 p.m. | Prelims (Bouts 7 and 8)
    • 10:30 p.m. | Themed Open Mic
  • Friday, June 7, 2024
    • 11:00 p.m. | NUPIC
  • Saturday, June 8, 2024
    • 6:30 p.m. | Haiku Slam
    • 8:30 p.m. | Final Stage
    • 11:00 p.m. | Open Mic


Competitor Information

Download full competition details here. Once competitors are confirmed, bouts will be listed here. 

Registration opened for ALL POETS on December 4, 2023.  Register here: /nfsps-2024-national-convention-voices-set-free. Once you receive the confirmation email from Noir Jente, you are fully registered for the SLAM. Meals and Host hotel stays can be booked on the same registration page. 

State Poetry Societies and Long-running Poetry Venues should select representatives primarily via competitions held or via other NFSPS approved selection processes. Registration can and should take place prior to that selection process. In other words, States and Venues should register IMMEDIATELY, then select their poet representative at a later date. Former BlackBerryPeach Written and Spoken Poetry Prize Finalists are eligible to sign up immediately when registration opens as well.

The 44 slots will be filled first come first served. We advise all to register as soon as possible.

Register Here! 

Wait List and Refunds

The registration period ends April 12, 2024, at midnight Pacific Standard Time. A waitlist will be created in order to fill any berths that may come open. 

All confirmed registrations include a year's membership to the NFSPS and a State Poetry Society which is non-refundable. Our standard policy is no refund of any registration fees. Refund exceptions may be made on a case-by-case basis and when special circumstances make such action necessary. 

NFSPS reserves the right to cancel the competition in the event of weather, public health or any other major problem. In such an instance, a full refund of all registration fees will be paid within 7 days of the cancellation.


  • First place prize money will be $2000
  • Second place prize money will be $1000
  • Third place prize money will be $500
  • Fourth place prize money will be $250
  • Fifth place thru twelfth place prize money will be $125
  • Sacrificial poet will receive $100

Audience Information

We encourage anyone not competing in the competition – whether you’re attending the NFSPS Annual Convention or a member of the general public interested in the slam – to attend the full week of slam events.

Everyone is welcome to attend the preliminary rounds for free. Also, everyone is invited to participate in the themed open mics for free – so long as the poetry fits the theme for that evening. 

To attend the BlackBerry Peach National Poetry Slam Finals, tickets will be available for the general public or are included for attendees of the NFSPS Annual Convention.

To attend workshops and events of the NFSPS Annual Convention, please see this registration page. Note: There are additional fees associated with attending the convention events.


Past Winners

2023 Champion Dove Dupree

2022 Champion Asma Olajuwon